today offer amazon coupons

2017 shopclues coupons

shoes, kurti, kurtis, sarees offer - myntra coupons

Home / Competitions / George Pritchatt Memorial Classic Report

George Pritchatt Memorial Classic Report

Please find a report on the George Pritchatt Memorial Ladies Classic as written by his daughter Lynn Pritchatt, our Treasurer.


Yesterday was the 23rd year of our Ladies Tournament being held at Chadsmoor Progressive Bowling Club. In 2009 the event was renamed to the George Pritchatt Memorial Ladies Classic in honour of my wonderful Dad George. The sun shone all day and the quality line-up was sure to lead to some excellent bowling and camaraderie. We were not disappointed.

Five former champions were in action yesterday in what was an excellent field of 32 female players from all over the country. The top half of the draw saw Samantha Murray, the 2016 runner-up, start the day hoping to go one better this year. Her opening match was against former Yorkshire now Midlands-based player Alexis Lunn-Gadd, first time visitor to the Chadsmoor Progressive Bowling Green. In a close encounter, green knowledge was possibly the deciding factor with Sam earning a 21-17 victory. The second round saw a repeat of the 2016 final with Sam facing two times champion Kaye Coulthard. In another hard fought battle, Sam gained a little revenge just edging over the line with a 21-18 win. Sam’s quarter final match was against W&W Tracey Baker, fresh from earning a place in the BCGLBA Ladies Merit by reaching the semi-finals of the Warwickshire Ladies Merit. Tracey had been in fine form during her two opening matches, however, it was Sam to the finish line first with a 21-12 victory. The semi-final saw Sam face a second former champion, three times winner Sue Pugh. This had the makings of being a superb match with both players in good form and having a lot of green knowledge. Sam had the bit between her teeth from the first bowl and earned herself a place in her second final in the tournament in two years with a 21-10 victory.

The bottom half of the draw was equally packed with talent. In her opening match, South Yorkshire county player Melanie Saville-Fearn faced Staffordshire player Heather Rowe. Melanie started the day with a 21-11 win. In her second round match Melanie was up against Janet Pratley, her second Staffordshire-based opponent. This match was a close encounter with Melanie earning a 21-18 victory. By this time Melanie may have got rather fed up with her Staffordshire opposition as her quarter final match saw her face Staffordshire player Janet Hargreaves. In a nail-biting match, it could not have been closer with Melanie just getting over the line with a 21-20 win. In the semi-final, Melanie was up against two times champion Nicola Boulton. Nicola had been in good form having had two excellent games putting out Melanie’s South Yorkshire teammate Kerry Brown 21-19 in her first match, followed by another 21-19 victory over Wirral’s Lyndsey Gorman. It was however to be Melanie’s day as she claimed a 21-15 victory to earn her place in the final for the first time.

So to the final. Sam Murray was hoping to go one step further from her runners-up position in 2016. However, Melanie was fastest out of the starting blocks and all who were in attendance would agree with me when I say that Melanie’s leading was immaculate. Melanie stamped her authority on the final from the first bowl and all Sam could do was keep playing the right shots. It was to be Melanie’s day. Her excellent performance in the final earned her a 21-8 victory and her name on the Lynn Pritchatt trophy for the first time.

I extend my sincere thanks to Evelyn Hastings and Barry Booth who refereed all day in the heat of a beautifully sunny June day. Thanks also extend to Chadsmoor BC Greenkeeper Dennis Dunn, who ensured the playing surface was excellent for competitors to enjoy. Many thanks to card markers, particularly Alison and Scott Baird who must have marked most of the matches between them. Thank you to my lovely Mom Irene for ensuring everyone was well fed and watered and for enduring the heat from the very warm pavilion. Special thanks must also go the competitors who, on exiting the tournament, gave up their time to measure. A heartfelt thank you to Alexis Lunn-Gadd and Linda Williams for their hard work.

The event will return in 2019 on Sunday 9th June. On a personal note, despite it being a very emotional day on many levels, it was lovely to see many friends I have had the privilege of knowing for many years. The day was made by a surprise visit by our beautiful granddaughter Isabelle and Mel’s daughter Jenny. They both bring me such joy.

Best wishes to everyone for a continued healthy and successful season.

A full list of scores is detailed below:-

Sarah Fox 12 Maggie Barnes 21
Sally Evans 07 Sue Pugh 21
Linda Williams 16 Dawn Bray 21
Maggie Pailing 17 Debbie Watters 21
Tracey Baker 21 Vikki Wilson 11
Jackie Burdett 16 Karen Hill 21
Janette Tongue 13 Kaye Coulthard 21
Alexis Lunn-Gadd 17 Samantha Murray 21
Sarah Skidmore 10 Lyndsey Gorman 21
Nicola Boulton 21 Kerry Brown 19
Alyson Evans 21 Jordan Picken 15
Anne O’Loughlin 15 Maliza Herbert 21
Lisa Cox 16 Janet Pratley 21
Melanie Saville-Fearn 21 Heather Rowe 11
Janet Hargreaves 21 Kelly Martin 16
Rachel Bennett 18 Julie Alderman 21

Second Round

Sue Pugh 21 Maggie Barnes 08
Dawn Bray 21 Debbie Watters 11
Tracey Baker 21 Karen Hill 16
Kaye Coulthard 18 Samantha Murray 21
Lyndsey Gorman 19 Nicola Boulton 21
Alyson Evans 15 Maliza Herbert 21
Melanie Saville-Fearn 21 Janet Pratley 18
Janet Hargreaves 21 Julie Alderman 15

Quarter Finals

Sue Pugh 21 Dawn Bray 07
Tracey Baker 12 Samantha Murray 21
Nicola Boulton 21 Maliza Herbert 16
Melanie Saville-Fearn 21 Janet Hargreaves 20

Semi Finals

Sue Pugh 10 Samantha Murray 21
Nicola Boulton 15 Melanie Saville-Fearn 21


Melanie Saville-Fearn 21 Samantha Murray 08

2018 Champion – Melanie Saville-Fearn

About Rob Burroughs

Check Also

Mel Evans Trophy New Date

Please find below details on the new date for the Mel Evans Trophy next year. …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: